Taking on new jobs…

Hello all!

I feel that I am a fully fledged member of the team now at Roots HR. I have found my job as Office Dog to be varied and interested, and I feel everyone is following my security measures now. Namely only I am permitted to answer the door, greet visitors and screen them before coming on to the premises, audit everyone’s bags and the waste bins (when they haven’t been moved to a place I can’t reach) and confiscate any dangerous looking food items. Yes Louise your food was in breach of safety and you should thank me for removing it. That baked potato you had the other day looked iffy, but you kept it out of reach and I couldn’t inspect it. Similarly I was sure I could smell cupcakes, but couldn’t see them. Clearly an item that should be confiscated I’m sure you will agree.

Last week I accompanied Mum on some client visits, thus handling matters outside of the office. I have been to the YMCA in Worcester where it appears that trying to squeeze under a fence into an allotment of chickens to check the level of security was beyond my remit. I only realised that when Mum had to leave her phone call and come to stop me. It seems my eagerness to do well can work against me. I went to Worcestershire Association of Carers where I was on duty in the boot of the car in a shady spot with the window down and some zzzzz’s may have been heard. I also dozed in the car outside Symphony Hall, dreaming I could hear the CBSO rehearsing but Mum says they are on tour in Europe and it was probably some pop music in a pub in Brindley Place. I may need to work on musical appreciation techniques so I can fully understand our clients in the arts sector. Clearly a development need.

Turning now to another important HR topic, namely Wellbeing. When commuting into work by paw the other day I demonstrated a curious hobble which raised much human concern. This was great fun so I hobbled on 3 out of my 4 paws at different times to see what happened. This backfired on me somewhat as Mum started muttering about Attention Seeking and somebody else mentioned the V word. I attribute the hobble to going pogging with Mum, (which is power walking and jogging and apparently Very Good for Dogs). We switch between low and high intensity walking and jogging and go for quite a few miles. I think this may be impacting on my energy levels. I am a very fit dog but I need to be fully energised when I arrive at work. Pogging has resulted in some sleeping on the job, see picture, which was captured on camera. No one seems to mind this – in fact they encourage me to do it but the last thing I want is any excessive sleeping being regarded as a capability issue. That’s another thing, does sleeping time count towards working time? These things really need to be cleared up.

Until next time… I’ve just spotted a flapjack acting suspiciously…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Taking on new jobs…

  1. Oh Buddy…such important assignments at the office! And the food inspection sounds very dangerous…you are so brave to take on that responsibility. I have to figure out how to get an office dog assignment of my own…snooze on!

    • Yes, I know. I’d hate to think what happens with food when I’m not around. I often hear the word “posh biscuits” being referred to when Louise goes out. They don’t sound as dangerous, but still need to investigate. I liked the picture of you in a hammock. It could significantly improve the quality of my sleeps. Note to self: Must put on my cutest face and ask Mum to buy a hammock.

Leave a Reply

